3 Types of Midwives

There are three types of midwives who can practice legally in the State of Utah:

1) CPM or DEM – Certified Professional Midwife or Direct Entry Midwife. In Utah no certification or licensure is required to call yourself a midwife. This midwife may or may not have the CPM credential. Therefore, it is up to you, the client, to determine the skill-level and capability of those calling themselves a midwife. Many midwives in this category are skilled, but once again, it is up you to determine the knowledge and skill-level of this midwife. This midwife can carry oxygen, but cannot carry or administer any other medications.

2) LDEM – Licensed Direct Entry Midwife. This is someone who went straight into midwifery and is licensed by the state. She is a CPM, having met the requirements with NARM (North American Registry of Midwives). LDEMs are licensed with the State of Utah and can carry oxygen, lidocaine (for stitching up your perineum in the case of tears), Rhogam for Rh- mothers, pitocin for a hemorrhage, vitamin K for baby, eye ointment for baby, and with a physician’s approval, IVs, additional medications for hemorrhage, and certain antibiotics for labor if needed. They are not under the supervision of a doctor, but practice independently.

3) CNM – Certified Nurse Midwife. This midwife has gone through formal nurses’ training and certification as well as a midwifery degree and training. Most CNMs work in hospitals, are able to carry medications and write prescriptions.


Please be aware that birthing at a birth center may limit the access to medications that may be needed. The medications available to you are determined by the license that your midwife may or may not hold. If you would like access to hemorrhage medications, you MUST choose a Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) or Licensed Midwife (LDEM)


394 W Main Street Suite 206, Lehi, Utah 84043


(801) 796-2229


Office Hours

Monday - Friday  9am - 5pm